Sweet Rain

Sometimes I think we are cursed by our dry springs.  Aren’t April showers supposed to bring May flowers?  Not in Anchorage!  We typically get only 1/2 an inch of rain in April, our driest month.  May this year wasn’t any better, and now, the first day of June, we finally get relief.

Not that I am complaining about the absolutely beautiful Memorial Day weekend we had!  I finally got some sun on my skin and a bunch of things planted in the garden!  Now the rain is watering everything in for me, saving me hours of hauling hoses and watering cans around the garden.

This year I doubled the size of my garden, using the magic of sheet mulching and a free load of horse manure I had dumped in my driveway.  With all my extra space I decided to try corn for the first time and increase my quinoa production.  We have been harvesting lettuce, chard and rhubarb already, savoring the fresh taste of garden greens.  Beets, carrots, turnips, rutabagas, and peas are all up from seed.  Perennial sorrel and volunteer parsnips, mustard, and chamomile mean fewer things I have to plant.

Speaking of things I don’t have to plant, I made the most wonderful fritatta from dandelion greens the other day!  Here is my recipe:

Dandelion Fritatta 

  • Large bunch dandelion greens
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped or minced
  • 5 eggs
  • One cup ricotta or other cheese
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoon each dried thyme and oregano or 1 teaspoon dry
  • Nutmeg and black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons butter

In a medium cast-iron pan, saute  dandelion greens with garlic and half the salt in 1 tablespoon butter on medium heat.  Meanwhile, in a bowl, beat eggs with ricotta, the rest of the salt, thyme, oregano, a few scrapings of nutmeg, and some ground black pepper.  When the greens are bright and wilted, add them to the eggs.  Place the pan back on the stove and heat another tablespoon of butter.  Spread to coat the pan.  Add the eggs/greens mixture and lower the heat.  Preheat the broiler.  Let the eggs cook until almost set, and place under the broiler to finish.

One thought on “Sweet Rain

  1. Michelle Wilber

    I also love to eat my dandelion greens in eggs! I ate wild celery, nettles, fiddle heads and devils club shoots (young leaves) this weekend. The devil’s club was by far the best – just sauteed in ghee. I wish I could get devils club to grow in my yard!! I have some volunteer cukes growing in the hoop house they were in last year.
    What of your herbs are reliably perennial? I think my oregano came back, but not my thyme or winter savory etc. And strangely, my garlic chives are doing well but my regular ones don’t seem to have made it?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

