The Amazing Fritatta

I admit it.  I’m spoiled by the convenience of the grocery store.  Want fresh broccoli in the middle of winter?  Just go and get some at Freddy’s!  In fact, I never really learned how to cook with the frozen kind.  Too many dinners growing up with limp, frozen broccoli scared me away.  But we happened to have a great crop of broccoli last summer, and Matt dutifully blanched and froze a ton of it while I was off at school.  So, now what?

This is part of changing my patterns to live more sustainably.  I used to look in the refrigerator, specifically the crisper drawer, to figure out what to cook for dinner.  Now I think about what is in my freezer, in the pantry, or in my cold-storage tubs.  The broccoli has been staring me in the face, but I’m not going to let it intimidate me anymore.  I have embraced the task of figuring out how to cook it in a delicious way.

And so, here is my first creation, inspired by Craig’s Facebook post about hating it when people ask him for recipes….

Broccoli Blue Cheese Fritatta

  • 5 Eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4-1/2 tst red pepper flakes
  • 2 oz crumbled blue cheese
  • 1 package blanched frozen garden broccoli, chopped

Heat 1 tablespoon of butter in a cast-iron pan.  Whisk eggs and other ingredients together.  Pour into hot pan.  Cook on low heat until top is almost set.  Put pan in oven under pre-heated boiler until the top is brown and bubbly.  Serve with a dry white wine such as a sauvignon blanc or a light red such as a pinot noir.

One thought on “The Amazing Fritatta

Leave a Reply

