Go Sunshine!

Wow, I was really depressed Thursday when it started to snow, but I used the opportunity to get ahead on all my inside work, and by Friday I was sure glad I did!  By midday it was quite warm so I seized the opportunity to get outside!  I put some black plastic over some beds I want to start planting in tomorrow to warm them up a bit, and planted the asparagus and horseradish that arrived from Burgess the day before.  Because I don’t ever walk in my garden, it doesn’t get compacted so I don’t need to turn the soil to loosen it up.  I just let the worms do their job, all happy underneath the mulch.  This also means I don’t have to wait until the soil dries out to plant things.

Tomorrow, Sunday, is a great day to start planting things, according to the moon cycles.  So, anything you still want to start from seed inside, go ahead and plant it now.  Lettuce, squash, and sunflowers are all great things to start inside.  If you can get into your beds, there are also a lot of things you can start outside.  Spinach is a great one because soon the days will be too long and it will bolt right away.  Spinach loves the cool weather of spring and can even handle some light frost.  You can also plant carrots, parsnips, beets, turnips, rutabaga, lettuce, chard, and arugula.

The sun is shining right now and I’ve got to get outside!  Good luck!

Leave a Reply

